Weekly Wrapup

happy fridayHoly Guacamole. What a week.

I’m sure it’s fairly obvious that I’m new to blogging. I have always followed blogs in my free time but I never really thought of blogging myself. Then one day it dawned on me, since I love reading blogs so much why don’t I actually try starting one.

Slowly, but surely I started thinking of things I might actually want to blog about… but there were so many things I love about blogs: the fashion, the recipes, even the personal posts. Therefore, That Tall Girl In Heels became a lifestyle blog.

Then I ran into a new problem, there was so much I needed to learn. For one thing, I wanted to make sure that I was going to use  my own photos, and I wanted them to be good photos. So I started to teach myself photography. Then came the picture editing. (I edited my picture of the heels in my header photo — and it took me HOURS).  AND THEN came the graphics and learning to write code. This is where I really hit my wall. Every second of my spare time I was reading tutorials, watching youtube videos, and even scouring yahoo answers for the answers to my own questions. (I think once I typed in “HOW THE F*CK DO YOU RESIZE AN IMAGE ON PIXLR… hey it gave me the answer I was looking for in the long run.)

The more hours I spent searching for tutorials and answers, the more I began to feel inadequate. I started to think that maybe I should just give up on my blogging dream. After a couple hours of frustration, I decided to take a break from straining my eyes to glare at my computer screen and paid a visit to the hot yoga place near my house. After an hour and a half in 105 degree heat with 50% humidity, I cleared my head and realized I should take my own advice, the advice I give to the eight-year-old swimmers that I coach. “Practice makes perfect.” I can’t expect myself to be able to take perfect photos, make incredible graphics, and design my own blog theme right off the bat. I need to start simple. So, I designed my header and even designed a couple of other simple graphics. Although these graphics are easy to do, it gives me a peace of mind that I was able to do them on my own, and that I didn’t just download them from Google images. I have faith that I will grow, learn and improve alongside my blog. For now, “It’s the freakin’ weekend baby I’m ’bout to have me some fun.”
signature3

Post a Comment

Follow me on Bloglovin’!

Instagram + Twitter + Pinterest + Tumblr

8 thoughts on “Weekly Wrapup

  1. You are preaching to the choir! Everything you just said is exactly what’s been going through my head over the past few months. You are so right though, with enough practice we will perfect our craft. Feel free to email me if you want to share ideas and help each other out!

    p.s your blog looks great! 🙂

  2. OMG you sound Just. Like. Me. I feel like the first month was just decoding the mystery of all the technical things you need to do to blog. I mean you have a great post idea, a great photo then you need to figure out how to make it work on your blog. I feel like the only thing I watch lately is you tube tutorials on the every tiny thing I need to do to make my blog look how it looks in my head!
    Best of luck on the blogging, and I think your right, practice makes perfect. Your doing a great job
    Cheers
    http://www.carlytati.com

Leave a Reply

